When you first create a new workspace the default view for any mapping function is to have all label layers disabled. Reference layer settings can be found in the table of contents section of every map where basemap, land use and roads layers can be turned on/off. Changes to any of these reference layers will be saved for future use.
Have more questions? Submit a request